RSS

2012 Belated New Year’s Resolutions

21 Jan

In light of the fact that it’s already a month into 2012, the last year of the Mayan calendar and presumably Rapture time, I’m going to partake in the time honored tradition of the belated New Year’s resolution. We all know that the average New Year’s resolution involves some kind of weight loss goal, but frankly if I lost any weight I’d blow away with a gust of wind. My goals this year are a little less health related (because I believe bacon is both a meal and a condiment) and more about getting my act together. So here they are – without further ado – the Victor List for 2012!

1.) Finish what I start. It seems like a fairly straightforward goal, but I seem to be the kind of person that gets really excited about an idea only to end up being distracted by something else.  Drawings, tutorials, classes, writing – anything that I’ve started in the last 3 years now has a big target for completion.

2.) Read more. Fiction, non-fiction, semi-fiction. I need to read more, plain and simple.

3.) Draw more. I love doing it and I don’t do it as much as I’d love to.

4.) Write more. See resolution #2

5.) Post something new to one of my blogs (this one and victorfuste.wordpress.com) at least once a week – They say that if you want to be a writer, you have to write everyday. This is probably true for just about every profession…except maybe murderer. I’m pretty sure if you do that just once, people will still consider you a murderer. Anyway, this resolution goes hand in hand with resolutions 2 and 3. No point in doing all that drawing/writing if I don’t get it out there, right?

6.) No comics or toys until July 13th, 2012 – This is going to be a tough one. Whereas my wife is undertaking a similar challenge by giving up shopping (follow her exploits at brainsandblonde.wordpress.com), there are still enough loopholes in her resolution that it is very likely that I will still have to go to the mall at some point in the next 12 months, which would have been the silver lining to her resolution if it were ever to become a reality. So, in the same vein, my goal is to give up comics and all associated collectibles until July. If you know me, that’s basically tantamount to giving up all awesomeness for seven months. Why Friday July 13th and not the whole year, you ask? Two reasons: 1.) Because it will be my first trip to San Diego Comic Con and 2.) Twelve months is insane.

7.) Keep in touch with my friends on a more consistent basis – Yeah, yeah this is the sappiest of all my resolutions. The tough part about being an adult and no longer in college is that it’s a lot easier to lose track of the people with whom you enjoy spending time, drinking beer and telling dirty jokes. While it’s not as easy as just walking down the dorm hallway and knocking on someone’s door, there’s really no excuse nowadays to lose touch with people given the proliferation of communication methods out there. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’m going to bust out my quill pen and parchment and start writing letters, but think about it – when was the last time someone sent you a non-work related, personal email message?

So there you have it – 7 resolutions which I hope not to break this year.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
